stardustcboy's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rockin' the Socks with my Rockin' Gramms!

yo! what's shakin' ya'll? hope your weekends went well...looking around it seems that, overall, that was the case.

my weekend was fantastic...exhausting...but fantastic!

friday night our friends K-man and Mistress-Z came over. K-man is our officiator for the wedding so we went over our vows and all that jazz, then got really loaded and played scrabble until 3am. i didn't even realize it was 3am until JeLLy told me the next day.

i was hung-over as fuck in the morning, and we had to go all the way down to San Pedro to pick up my grandma who's visiting until after our wedding. so we rolled down there early in the morn because we had to get back by 10am for JeLLy's eye appointment. i actually think i was still a bit drunk from the night before, becuase i really didn't start feeling the full force of my hang-over until later in the afternoon.

so we grab grams and head back up to the valley for JeLLy's eye exam. Grams and i do a bit of shopping while we wait and when we're done we head back to the house for a bit before rolling over to the other end of the valley for JeLLy's friend's dad's 50th birthday party.

by this time i've got a horrible headache, but i was smart and grabbed to advil on the way out of the house. dosed those and grabbed a beer (a lil hair-of-the-dog) and felt much better after 20 minutes or so.

the party was real nice. the birthday boy was completely surprised, and grams had a good time meeting everyone (all the grandmas in their family have passed away so they were particularly excited to have a grandma around again).

after that we just rented some movies and hung out at home.

now, for those of you who don't know my grandmother, i must tell you know that she really isn't my grandmother...she's my second cousin. for a deeper history read the story of little sancho. basically it isn't some sort of incest thing as one would probably first think (you sick lil fucks), but rather, because my father was orphaned as a child and she spent a lot of time taking care of him (she's 12 years his senior). anyway, all my life i've called her grandma, and that is what she is to me, a grandma...and probably the rockinest grandma in the history of mankind!

she's 70 years old, she smokes, she drinks, she loves to dance, and she's a mad gamblin' fiend! she's probably the most liberal in my family save my mother's sister. needless to say it is great fun having her around because she's so utterly young and vibrant (vivacious, energetic and long-lived all seem to run in the family).

so we hung out and watched movies, smoked, drank some beers and generally relaxed and had a good time.

sunday we went out for breakfast at this lil diner down the street and then headed over to universal studios.

we took her on all the rides...back to the future, the haunted van helsing walk-through, juraissic park, the mummy's revenge, and finally the studio tour tram ride. when it was all done and we were leaving the park she said...

"i LOVE the dinosaurs and the mummy!! i wanna' go on those again!"

LoL!

here you have a 70 year old woman, who to be honest, had me wondering if she could handle these crazy rides, holding up like a champ and wanting to go on them AGAIN!

man, if this is any measure, my older years will certainly be blessed! i hope JeLLy can keep up with me! my family has more energy than ME sometimes, and that's saying a lot!

so after goin' to universal we stopped at in-and-out for some burgers and hit the road. we smoked with her a little before taking off and she talked about my real grandma and grandpa (her aunt and uncle - she was 15 when they died). she also talked about her mom and dad and her grandma. she told some old mexican jokes that had me laughin' too.

it's amazing...what we see in our lifetimes. the tragedy, the sorrow, the joy, the excitement. we pass it to our lineage in the form of stories and memories...and in the worse cases, regrets and sorrows. but i loved spending time with her, and i really enjoyed hearing about my grandpa and grandma and my uncle. what they were like, what they did, how they lived. i'll never know them save through what she tells me, but knowing her is a conduit to all that was lost so long ago.

it is memories like these that remain when we are gone...and one day when she has passed, i will reminisce on the weekend i spent with her and i will be able to pass on those memories to my children...and show them pictures of us when we were making funny faces on the roller-coaster...

i only hope she remains long enough to see at least my first child...from the looks of it that may be a very definite possibility. but being with her this weekend is enough and having her at my wedding is enough.

so that was my weekend. it was great. by sunday night JeLLy and i were so pooped we just passed out watching movies.

tonight i shall make love to her until the cows come home! ;-)

i hope all your respective mondays are relatively stress free, as are your weeks. i think i'll be keepin' my eye on the weather this weekend...because i'm thinkin' it may be a good time to work on my all-over-tan! ;-)

until next time my loves...

live well!
~B-)

9:21 a.m. - 2005-04-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jellehbelleh
seadragon